Image

Nemesis (Nemesis #1) | Anna Banks

Nemesis

Nemesis by Anna Banks, October 2016, Feiwel and Friends, RRP$26.98 AUD

Synopsis

Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?

Review

Setting.

I am completely in love with this complexly developed fantasy world and I wish I could go there in person! There are dragon- and mermaid-like creatures and so many more. One of the kingdoms is based on Ancient Egypt, but the author makes Theoria all her own. There are also some cool magic and alchemical elements that really add to the book.

Characters.

I have an announcement to make: I HAVE A NEW BOOK BOYFRIEND. Tarik, *sigh* where do I even begin? Handsome, compassionate, humble, ROYAL. I am head-over-heels in love and you will be, too! I thought Sepora was also a great protagonist, but still with plenty of room for growth throughout the series. Although these two protagonists and their relationship is a significant part of the story, I really felt that it was their interactions with the other characters that made the book. I can’t wait to read more about them all!

Plot.

All you hate-to-love trope fans, this is for you! Not only did I love the fantasy elements—and the romance—of this book, I loved the politics of the world. Books (particularly fantasy novels) with a heavy political element are my favourite, and Nemesis is no exception! So fans of The Winner’s Curse series by Marie Rutkoski are sure to love this. I also appreciated the strong feminist and humanitarian themes running through the book. Even though the parental figures were somewhat absent in this book, I still liked the exploration of different family dynamics and how they affected the characters. And I’m sure that at least one parent will be more present in the sequel.

Writing.

At first, I found the book a little difficult to get into with all of the world building typical of a fantasy, but it was so worth it.

5/5

This is by far my favourite read of 2017 so far and I’m so excited to see where this series goes! I can’t wait for the sequel Ally to be released in October of this year. I wish this series was going to be longer than just three books because I LOVE IT.

3 thoughts on “Nemesis (Nemesis #1) | Anna Banks

Leave a Reply

