Image

March Book Haul

Well, that book buying limit didn’t last long… Only two months into the year and I’ve already broken my self-imposed rule of buying just four books per month. Such self-control. I really have no excuses. Most of these were impulse buys. I have a list of the books being released this year that I am permitting myself to buy, and only three of the books I bought were on it. Oops.

Gifts

Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman

I already owned Anne Blankman’s historical YA (which I read and adored this month) so I thought using the in-law’s birthday gift card was the perfect opportunity to get this one! I was really interested in it when it was released last year, but put off getting it for some reason. Anyway, I have it now!

The Turncoat’s Gambit by Andrea Cremer

This was the other book I got with the gift card. I’d been waiting and hoping that The Turncoat’s Gambit would be released in paperback eventually so that I could have it to match the rest of the trilogy, but alas, that was not to be. So even though the covers match, I have one odd hardback…

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberley Brubaker Bradley

This was gifted to me by the lovely Jeann from Happy Indulgence. She was unhauling some books to make room on her shelves and I gladly took this award-winning middle grade off her hands. Thank you, Jeann!

Prizes

A Talent for Murder

A Talent for Murder by Andrew Wilson

I love Agatha Christie’s murder mysteries so I was thrilled to win an ARC in a giveaway on Facebook from the publisher Simon & Schuster Australia!

Publishers

Wonderful Feels Like This by Sara Lovestam

Although I don’t often read contemporary novels, I think this one sounds absolutely adorable! Personally I think the elderly make the best friends so I can’t wait to read about Steffi and Alvar.

Strange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor

OMG.

Bought

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

I wasn’t entirely sure if I wanted to continue this series or not and at the beginning of 2017 I decided I wouldn’t. Then the hype got to me and now I own King’s Cage.

Roseblood by A. G. Howard

Again, I don’t read contemporary books. But PHANTOM OF THE OPERA.               I tried so hard to resist, but that cover sang to me, in dreams it came… that voice which calls to me, and speaks my name… (Ok, I’m sure you get it now).

Daughter of the Pirate King by Trisha Levenseller

Pirate books are the best.

The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury

Maybe I was completing the trilogy; maybe I just wanted another orange book for my rainbow shelves…

Silver Stars by Michael Grant

I haven’t read Front Lines yet, but I’m sure I’ll love it. Because we all know I’ll read anything related to WWII.

Nemesis by Anna Banks

I convinced myself that I didn’t need this book. I said to myself, “Elle, just borrow this one from the library.” So I did. But then it turned out to be THE BEST BOOK I’VE READ IN 2017 so obviously I needed to get a copy to add to my own personal library.

The Imposter Queen by Sarah Fine

I’ve been eyeing off this book since it was released in January 2016 and I finally caved and bought it on a little online shopping spree. Also, I read Cait’s (from Paper Fury) Goodreads review. If that isn’t persuasive writing, I don’t know what is!

The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo

With the Goodreads Monthly Recommendations group March topic being ‘Own Voices’ and white, female me not having read very many own voices books, I decided I needed to get one in that online shopping spree order. Since (again) I don’t like contemporaries, I found this YA historical paranormal and IT SOUNDS AMAZING. I plan to read it in April and will be sure to let you know just how much I love it.

3 thoughts on “March Book Haul

Leave a Reply

