Image

March Wrap Up

This month’s reading wasn’t too bad, and I actually managed to read more this month than any other! Still, I’ll be needing to read more books in the future if I want to keep up with my reading goal of 60 books in 2017. All in all, I have generally been reading quality over quantity and I’ve yet to rate a book less than 4 stars (though that may change when I pick up my required reading for this semester).

prisoner-of-night-and-fogPrisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

4/5

Before going into this book, I thought it was set during WWII Germany, but it wasn’t and I’m glad of that because this was so much better. This duology instead explores the lead up to the war and Hitler’s rise to power, which I didn’t know much about. Although the protagonist is fictional, there are still a whole host of characters based on real people. I loved this book and highly recommend it!

conspiracy-of-blood-and-smokeConspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman

4/5

After reading the first book, I wasn’t sure what more could happen in the sequel. And to be honest, the sequel wasn’t completely necessary and I would’ve been contented to have read Prisoner of Night and Fog as a standalone. In saying that, it still added depth to the characters and story.

Duology review HERE.

Nemesis

Nemesis by Anna Banks

5/5

This is my favourite read of 2017 so far. I was completely blown away. And I have a new book boyfriend. Yes, it was trope-y and in many ways very similar to other YA fantasies out there, but I loved it! I actually borrowed it from my library, since I was hesitant to buy it because of bad experiences with the author’s past works, but as soon as I closed the covers on that last page I found myself ordering my own copy online. I can’t wait for the sequel!

Full review HERE.

The Secret of Nightingale WoodThe Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange

4/5

This was recommended to me by some dear friends on Instagram and I’m so glad they did! Although I don’t read much middle-grade, I fell in love with this beautiful story that explore grief and family.

strange-the-dreamerStrange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor

5/5

I never read Lani Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, but I was always told of the stunning writing style. This was the only expectation I had going into Strange the Dreamer and I was not disappointed. I know many people got ARCs and had the opportunity to read the book early (lucky people) but for those of you who are yet to pick it up, PLEASE DO. There is a reason for the hype: beautiful writing style, intense fantasy world, remarkable characters; it is everything you could possibly want in a book. Except for the incredibly predictable plot twist (which I guessed before even picking the book up) which was rather disappointing BUT as far as I know from the reviews I’ve read, everyone else loved the ending.

Full review to come.

3 thoughts on “March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

